Home Lifestyle What is Your Self-Care Language?

What is Your Self-Care Language?

by Out and About Mag.

2020 has been a year of hardships with the pandemic and its effects that have left so many without jobs. This has created an environment of uncertainty in so many people's lives. Many of us have found ourselves getting panic or anxiety attacks. More than ever, it is important for us to learn our self-care language to ensure that we are in the best state physically, mentally and emotionally.


What is self-care?

Self-care are activities that we take part in to help take care of our physical, mental and emotional health and overall wellbeing as individuals. Self-care presents itself in six different ways.

  • Emotional Self-care

These are activities that help you enhance and learn how to navigate your emotions as a person. Emotional self-care includes talking to a therapist, journaling, painting and meditation- all of which aim to help you feel happier.

  • Physical Sel-fcare

These activities help improve your physical health. Working out, going for walks, practising healthy eating habits, getting enough sleep and staying hydrated.

  • Practical Self-care

These are activities that are really important in your life and if not done can lead to so much stress. Examples of practical self care are creating a budget, opening up a savings account, taking classes to improve your career, and paying your bills on time.

  • Spiritual Self-care

These are activities that feed your spirit and develop your spiritual awareness, for example; meditating, going for a yoga class, going to your place of worship and praying.

  • Social Self-care

These are activities that help you strengthen your relationships with your loved one’s. Having your loved ones around you gives you a sense of belongingness and makes you feel safe. Examples include; going for a walk with your family members, going for brunch with your friends or even calling your aunties and uncles.

  • Mental Self-care

These are activities that help stimulate your mind. Examples include; playing a board game such as chess or monopoly, reading a book or even solving a puzzle.

self care language

Love Languages

Our self-care language is greatly influenced by our love languages. Love Languages are the ways we like to feel loved. Understanding our love languages will make it easier for us to discover our self-care languages. There are five love languages:

  • Touch

If this is your love language, you enjoy being physically affectionate. You like holding hands or hugging.

  • Quality Time

This love language means that when you are with your loved ones, you want their undivided attention. You love creating memories and enjoy going on dates, road trips, or even just being next to the ones you love without necessarily doing anything.

  • Words of Affirmation

This love language means you like affirmation or praise. You like it when your loved words are constantly telling you of how much they love you and are proud of you.

  • Gifts

This love language doesn't necessarily mean that you are materialistic but rather means that you like receiving well thought out gifts. For example, paying for a class, your loved one has wanted to take for a while.

  • Acts of Service

This love language means you like it when  your loved ones do things for you, such as cooking because they know it will make you happy.

Once you have figured out how you want others to love you, It’s easier for you to determine your self-care language works best for you.

How does your love language influence your self-care language?
  • Touch

You are drawn to activities that are physical. Massages, getting a manicure or pedicure for yourself or cuddling with your pet,

  • Quality Time

You are like activities that require you to be present. Reading a book, going for a date with your friends or partner, meditating, journaling or even something as simple as taking a bath.

  • Words of Affirmation

You are drawn to activities that help improve your mental state. Saying your affirmations to yourself, writing letters to yourself, making a list of things you are grateful for, reading your favourite quotes that keep you inspired and help you feel better about yourself.

  • Gifts

With gifts as your love language for your self-care language, you are drawn towards activities that allow you to satisfy your own desires. In other words, you love rewarding yourself by taking yourself on a vacation or staycation, buying yourself your favourite dessert, buying yourself a new outfit or even some flowers.

  • Acts of Service

If your love language is acts of service, your self-care language draws you to activities that actually require you to do something. Your personal motto is actions speak louder than words so you can do activities such as gardening, baking, or even redecorating your house for self-care.

It is important for us to part in self-care activities as they help improve control stress, improve  our overall well being and health.

Self-care is a way of showing love to yourself. If you can not love yourself, there is no way you can love others around you. It's important to prioritise yourself mentally, emotionally and physically that way you can be there for others. Practising your self-care might be something as simple as taking a five-minute power nap during your lunch break at work.

About the Author 

Self careMutazindwa N. Amirah, a budding writer and blogger, currently studies at the Amity University Dubai. She is pursuing a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism and Mass Communication. She is interested in fashion, food and travel and dreams of being a news anchor in the future. She believes in sharing the wonderful and diverse stories of people, and this led her to choose a career path of a writer and a journalist.




Setting Boundaries

Do You Know Your Attachment Style?

15 Simple Healthy Lifestyle Habits

Back to Basics: Practical Ways to Improve Yourself

Related Articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More